Jump to: Footer

On the following site you can find details concerning the organizational structure of the FMA, information about the executive board as well as the standing orders.

Executive Board

The executive Board of the FMA Mr. Helmut Ettl and Mr. Klaus Kumpfmüller manage the service operation and lead business according to the law and standing orders.

This photograph shows Helmut Ettl

Helmut Ettl was born on August 23, 1965 studied Economics at the Johannes Kepler University in Linz. After completing his alternative service, he worked in various managerial positions for the City of Linz child-welfare services. In 1995, he moved to Vienna and joined the Foreign Research Division of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank (OeNB), his thematic focus being on economic and monetary union. In 2001, he was appointed deputy head of the Banking Analysis and Inspections Division and became its head in 2003. In 2008, Helmut Ettl was appointed as FMA Executive Director. Since 2011 he has been a member of the Board of Supervisors of the European Banking Authority (EBA) and European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB). Between 2008 and 2010 Helmut Ettl was a member of the Committee of European Banking Supervisors (CEBS). His current term as FMA Executive Director runs until 14 February 2023. Since January 2014 Helmut Ettl has been a voting member of the Supervisory Board of the Single Supervisory Mechanism of the European Central Bank (ECB). With effect from 1 April 2019 he was appointed for a one-year term as member of the Steering Committee (SC) of the Supervisory Mechanism (SSM) for European banking supervision.

SSM Calendars

This photograph shows Klaus KumpfmüllerKlaus Kumpfmüller was born on 29 November 1969 in Schärding, Upper Austria. He graduated in Business Administration from the Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration and the Johannes Kepler University in Linz. From 1994 to 1995 he was a cabinet staff member of the State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs. Between 1995 and 2002 he was a Key Account Manager for institutional customers at Raiffeisenlandesbank Oberösterreich AG. In 2002 he moved to Oberösterreichische Landesbank AG to become Director of Key Account Services and, additionally, Managing Director and Supervisory Board member for several of the bank’s holding companies. In 2011 he was appointed as a Member of the Management Board at the Asutrian Treasury (OeBFA). In 2013 he was appointed as Executive Director of the FMA. His current term runs until 14 February 2023. In addition Klaus Kümpfmüller has been a Member of the Board of Supervisors since 2013 as well as a member of the Single Resolution Board (SRB). Between 2013 and 2018 Klaus Kumpfmüller was a Member of the Management Board of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) and has been a Member of the Austrian Financial Market Stability Board (FMSG) since 2014.


Organisation Chart


The FMA is divided into six departments:Organisation chart of the FMA

  • Banking Supervision
  • Insurance and Pension Company Supervision
  • Securities Supervision
  • Integrated Supervision
  • Services
  • Bank Resolution

The two staff divisions “Enforcement and Law” and “Internal Audit”report directly to the Executive Board.


Rules of Procedure

Article 1. The Rules of Procedure of the FMA shall govern:

(1) the organisational structure and the distribution of responsibilities to the FMA’s organisational units (Distribution of Responsibilities);

(2) the FMA’s regulation on representation.

The Rules of Procedure of the FMA can be found in German.


Supervisory Board

Pursuant to the legal provisions in the Financial Market Authority Act the Austrian Financial Market Authority is made up of the Executive Board and the Supervisory Board. The Supervisory Board consists of eight members, who like the Executive Directors are appointed by the Minister of Finance and the Oesterreichische Nationalbank. The Austrian Economic Chambers (WKO) makes suggestions for two additional co-opted members. The Supervisory Board oversees the management of the FMA; for certain undertakings the approval of the Supervisory Board is required.


Chairman: Alfred LEJSEK, Federal Ministry of Finance

Vice-Chairman: Ewald NOWOTNY, Governor of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank


  • Gabriela DE RAAIJ, Off-Site Supervision Division – Significant Institutions, Oesterreichische Nationalbank
  • Elisabeth GRUBER, Department for Holdings and Real Estate, Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Gottfried HABER, Vice Governor, Oesterreichische Nationalbank
  • Bernhard PERNER, Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Beate SCHAFFER, Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Karin TURNER-HRDLICKA, Oesterreichische Nationalbank

Co-opted members:

  • Walter KNIRSCH, Tax advisor, chartered accountant and auditor
  • Franz RUDORFER, Federal Division for Banks and Insurance, Austrian Economic Chambers


Further information