Organisation | FMA Österreich

Organisation

Jump to: Footer

On the following site you can find details concerning the organizational structure of the FMA, information about the executive board as well as the standing orders.

Executive Board

The executive Board of the FMA Mr. Helmut Ettl and Mr. Eduard Müller manage the service operation and lead business according to the law and standing orders.

This photograph shows Helmut Ettl

Helmut Ettl was born on August 23, 1965 studied Economics at the Johannes Kepler University in Linz. After completing his alternative service, he worked in various managerial positions for the City of Linz child-welfare services. In 1995, he moved to Vienna and joined the Foreign Research Division of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank (OeNB), his thematic focus being on economic and monetary union. In 2001, he was appointed deputy head of the Banking Analysis and Inspections Division and became its head in 2003. In 2008, Helmut Ettl was appointed as FMA Executive Director. Since 2011 he has been a member of the Board of Supervisors of the European Banking Authority (EBA) and European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB). Between 2008 and 2010 Helmut Ettl was a member of the Committee of European Banking Supervisors (CEBS). His current term as FMA Executive Director runs until 14 February 2023. Since January 2014 Helmut Ettl has been a voting member of the Supervisory Board of the Single Supervisory Mechanism of the European Central Bank (ECB). With effect from 1 April 2019 he was appointed for a one-year term as member of the Steering Committee (SC) of the Supervisory Mechanism (SSM) for European banking supervision.

SSM Calendars

Eduard Müller was born on 31 August 1962 in Oberwart, Burgenland. He holds a degree in Economics and also holds an MBA degree. Following various positions including at the Federal Ministry of Finance as well as the European Commission, he became Managing Director of the Linde Verlag publishing house in 2013, before returning to the Federal Ministry of Finance in 2015 as Head of Section. Between June 2019 and January 2020 he was Federal Minister of Finance as well as Minister for the Civil Service and Sport. He has been appointed as Executive Director of the FMA with effect from 1 February 2020.

Organisation Chart

The FMA is divided into six departments:

  • Banking Supervision
  • Insurance and Pension Company Supervision
  • Securities Supervision
  • Integrated Supervision
  • Services
  • Bank Resolution

The two staff divisions “Enforcement and Law” and “Internal Audit”report directly to the Executive Board.

Rules of Procedure

Article 1. The Rules of Procedure of the FMA shall govern:

(1) the organisational structure and the distribution of responsibilities to the FMA’s organisational units (Distribution of Responsibilities);

(2) the FMA’s regulation on representation.

The Rules of Procedure of the FMA can be found in German.

Supervisory Board

Pursuant to the legal provisions in the Financial Market Authority Act the Austrian Financial Market Authority is made up of the Executive Board and the Supervisory Board. The Supervisory Board consists of eight members, who like the Executive Directors are appointed by the Minister of Finance and the Oesterreichische Nationalbank. The Austrian Economic Chambers (WKO) makes suggestions for two additional co-opted members. The Supervisory Board oversees the management of the FMA; for certain undertakings the approval of the Supervisory Board is required.

Chairman: Alfred LEJSEK, Federal Ministry of Finance

Vice-Chairman: Ewald NOWOTNY, Governor of the Oesterreichische Nationalbank

Members:

  • Gabriela DE RAAIJ, Off-Site Supervision Division – Significant Institutions, Oesterreichische Nationalbank
  • Elisabeth GRUBER, Department for Holdings and Real Estate, Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Gottfried HABER, Vice Governor, Oesterreichische Nationalbank
  • Bernhard PERNER, Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Beate SCHAFFER, Federal Ministry of Finance
  • Karin TURNER-HRDLICKA, Oesterreichische Nationalbank

Co-opted members:

  • Walter KNIRSCH, Tax advisor, chartered accountant and auditor
  • Franz RUDORFER, Federal Division for Banks and Insurance, Austrian Economic Chambers

Further information

Organisation

Springe zu: Fußzeile

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie Details zum organisatorischen Aufbau der Finanzmarktaufsicht, Informationen zum Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat sowie die Geschäftsordnung.

Vorstand der Finanzmarktaufsicht

Der Vorstand der FMA, Mag. Helmut Ettl und Dipl.-Kfm. Eduard Müller, MBA, leitet den gesamten Dienstbetrieb und führt die Geschäfte entsprechend den Gesetzen und der Geschäftsordnung.

Mag. Helmut Ettl, geboren am 23. August 1965, studierte Volkswirtschaftslehre an der Johannes-Kepler-Universität Linz und war nach Absolvierung des Zivildienstes in verschiedenen führenden Funktionen in der Kinder- und Jugendarbeit der Stadt Linz tätig. 1995 übersiedelte er nach Wien und trat in die Oesterreichische Nationalbank, „Abteilung für die Analyse wirtschaftlicher Entwicklungen im Ausland“ mit Arbeitsschwerpunkt Wirtschafts- und Währungsunion, ein. 2001 wurde er stellvertretender Leiter der Abteilung für Bankenanalyse und -revision, 2003 deren Leiter. 2008 wurde Mag. Ettl zum Vorstandsmitglied der FMA bestellt, seit 2011 ist er Mitglied im „Rat der Aufseher“ (Board of Supervisors) der Europäischen Bankenaufsichtsbehörde (EBA) und im Europäischen Ausschuss für Systemrisiken (ESRB). Von 2008 bis 2010 war war Mag. Ettl Mitglied im Ausschuss der Europäischen Aufsichtsbehörden für das Bankwesen (CEBS). Seine aktuelle Funktionsperiode als Vorstandsmitglied der FMA läuft bis 14. Februar 2023. Seit Jänner 2014 ist Helmut Ettl stimmberechtigtes Mitglied des Aufsichtsgremiums (Supervisory Board) der Bankenaufsicht der Europäischen Zentralbank (EZB). Mit Wirkung vom 1. April 2019 wurde er für ein Jahr zum Mitglied des „Steering Committee“ (SC) der Europäischen Bankenaufsicht SSM (Single Supervisory Mechanism) ernannt.

SSM Kalender

Eduard Müller wurde am 31. August 1962 in Oberwart geboren. Er absolvierte das Studium der Wirtschaftswissenschaften, sowie ein postgraduales MBA Studium. Nach verschiedenen Tätigkeiten unter anderem im Bundesministerium für Finanzen und bei der Europäischen Kommission übernahm er 2013 die Geschäftsführung des Linde Verlags, ehe er 2015 als Sektionschef in das Bundesministerium für Finanzen zurück kehrte. Von Juni 2019 bis Jänner 2020 war er Bundesminister für Finanzen sowie für öffentlichen Dienst und Sport. Ab 1. Februar 2020 ist er interimistisch Vorstand der FMA.

Organigramm

Auf diesem Bild sehen Sie das Organigramm der FMA. (ab 1.2.2020)

Die FMA ist in sechs Bereiche unterteilt:

  • Bankenaufsicht
  • Versicherungs- und Pensionskassenaufsicht
  • Wertpapieraufsicht
  • Integrierte Aufsicht
  • Services
  • Bankenabwicklung

Dem Vorstand direkt unterstellt sind die beiden Stabsabteilungen Verfahren und Recht sowie Interne Revision.

Geschäftsordnung der Finanzmarktaufsicht

Die organisatorische Gliederung und die Aufteilung der Geschäfte auf die Organisationseinheiten sowie die Vertretungsregeln in der FMA sind in der Geschäftsordnung geregelt.

Aufsichtsrat der Finanzmarktaufsicht

Der Aufsichtsrat setzt sich aus acht Mitgliedern zusammen, die wie der Vorstand vom Bundesminister für Finanzen und der OeNB nominiert werden. Zwei weitere, kooptierte Mitglieder werden von der Wirtschaftskammer Österreich vorgeschlagen. Die Aufgabe des Aufsichtsrates liegt vor allem in der Überwachung der Geschäftsführung der FMA.

Vorsitzender: MR Mag. Alfred LEJSEK, Bundesministerium für Finanzen

Vorsitzender-Stv.: Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Robert HOLZMANN, Gouverneur der Oesterreichischen Nationalbank

Mitglieder:

  • DI Dr. Gabriela DE RAAIJ, Abteilungsleiterin Abteilung für Europäische Großbankenanalyse
    Oesterreichische Nationalbank
  • MMag. Elisabeth GRUBER, Abteilungsleiterin Beteiligungen und Liegenschaften bei Bundesministerium für Finanzen
  • Univ.-Prof. MMag. Dr. Gottfried HABER, Vize-Gouverneur der Oesterreichischen Nationalbank
  • Dr. Beate SCHAFFER, Bundesministerium für Finanzen
  • Dr. Dietmar SCHUSTER, Bundesministerium für Finanzen
  • Mag. Dr. Karin TURNER-HRDLICKA, Oesterreichischen Nationalbank

Kooptierte:

  • Dr. Walter KNIRSCH, Beeideter Wirtschaftsprüfer und Steuerberater
  • Dr. Franz RUDORFER, Bundessektion Bank und Versicherung, Wirtschaftskammer Österreich

Weitere Informationen