Sustainable Finance - FMA Österreich
You are here: 

Sustainable Finance

Jump to: Footer

Pensionskassen will take on a key role in the structural change towards a climate-neutral economy. As institutional investors they may contribute significantly to reducing the impact of climate change and to make the transition to a more sustainable and more resilient economy. By integrating sustainability aspects in relation to Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) factors into the regulatory and supervisory legal frameworks, capital flows should now accordingly be diverted towards sustainable investments in accordance with the European Commission’s Action Plan on Sustainable Finance and the Green Deal, and measures pushed for overcoming financial risks arising from climate change, natural catastrophes and social problems as well as for promoting transparency and long-term thinking in financial and economic activities.

The regulatory framework should be amended to implement the European Commission’s Action Plan on Sustainable Finance as follows:

  • The Disclosure Regulation (EU) 2019/2088 on sustainability‐related disclosures in the financial services sector
  • The Benchmark Regulation (EU) 2019/2089 – amending Regulation (EU) 2016/1011 as regards EU Climate Transition Benchmarks, EU Paris-aligned Benchmarks and sustainability-related disclosures for benchmarks
  • The Taxonomy Regulation (EU) 2020/852 – on the establishment of a framework to facilitate sustainable investment

While accompanying supervised entities in the transition process, the FMA has set the strategic framework conditions, has intensified the dialogue with the insurance undertakings and set the following priorities:

  • Asset Screenings: since 2019, the FMA has been conducting various analyses of the transitional risks in investment, in order to identify those assets in the portfolios that would be exposed to potentially higher fluctuations in price during a transition to a more CO2-neutral economy. Furthermore, the share and corporate bond portfolios are valued and analysed under different transition scenarios with regard to the decarbonisation of the economy, to what extent companies in which the Pensionskassen invest, must reduce their CO2 emissions, in order to achieve a path that conforms with the Paris climate objectives.
  • Climate stress test: The FMA regularly conducts stress tests to analyse the risks and vulnerabilities in the Pensionskassen sector especially with regard to the current economic climate as well as for assessing the risk capacity of the individual undertakings. For this purpose, the FMA also examines the impacts of future climate policy, the advent of low-carbon technologies, the economy’s level of adaptation or the occurrence of extreme events.
  • ESG Dialogue: in accompanying insurance undertakings in the transition process in order to achieve the objectives of the European “Green Deal” the FMA has intensified its dialogue with the industry, in order to inform the insurers as early as possible about the current developments, the FMA’s initiatives and the results of the asset screenings.

Sustainable Finance - FMA Österreich
Sie befinden sich hier: 

Sustainable Finance

Springe zu: Fußzeile

Pensionskassen kommt bei dem Strukturwandel in eine klimaneutrale Wirtschaft eine Schlüsselrolle zu. Als institutionelle Investoren können sie maßgeblich dazu beitragen, die Auswirkungen des Klimawandels abzumildern und den Übergang zu einer nachhaltigeren und widerstandsfähigeren Wirtschaft zu erleichtern. Durch Integration von Nachhaltigkeitsaspekten aus Umwelt, Soziales und Unternehmensführung (ESG) in den regulatorischen und aufsichtsrechtlichen Rahmen sollen nun entsprechend dem Aktionsplan der Europäischen Kommission für nachhaltige Finanzen und dem Grünen Deal Kapitalflüsse in Richtung nachhaltige Investitionen umgelenkt werden und Maßnahmen zur Bewältigung von finanziellen Risiken aus Klimawandel, Naturkatastrophen und sozialen Problemen sowie zur Förderung der Transparenz und Langfristigkeit in der Finanz- und Wirtschaftstätigkeit forciert werden.

Zur Umsetzung des Aktionsplans der Europäischen Kommission für nachhaltige Finanzen soll der regulatorische Rahmen wie folgt geändert werden:

  • Offenlegungsverordnung (EU) 2019/2088 – Verordnung über nachhaltigkeitsbezogene Offenlegungspflichten im Finanzdienstleistungssektor
  • Referenzwerteverordnung (EU) 2019/2089 – Verordnung zur Änderung der Verordnung (EU) 2016/1011 hinsichtlich EU-Referenzwerten für den klimabedingten Wandel, auf das Übereinkommen von Paris abgestimmter EU-Referenzwerte sowie hinsichtlich nachhaltigkeitsbezogener Offenlegungen für Referenzwerte
  • Taxonomieverordnung (EU) 2020/852 – Verordnung über die Einrichtung eines Rahmens zur Erleichterung nachhaltiger Investitionen

Im Rahmen der Begleitung der beaufsichtigten Unternehmen im Transitionsprozess hat die FMA strategische Rahmenbedingungen festgelegt, den Dialog mit den Versicherungsunternehmen intensiviert und folgende Schwerpunkte gesetzt:

  • Asset Screenings: Die FMA führt seit 2019 diverse Analysen der transitorischen Risiken in der Veranlagung durch, um jene Vermögenswerte in den Portfolien zu ermitteln, die bei einem Übergang in eine CO2-neutralere Wirtschaft potentiell höheren Kursschwankungen ausgesetzt wären. Darüber hinaus werden die Aktien- und Unternehmensanleihebestände unter verschiedenen Transitionsszenarien mit Bezug zur Dekarbonisierung der Wirtschaft bewertet und analysiert, inwieweit Unternehmen, in welche die Pensionskassen investieren, ihre CO2-Emissionen reduzieren müssen, um einen mit den Pariser Klimazielen konformen Pfad wahrzunehmen.
  • Klimastresstest: Zur Analyse der Risiken und Verwundbarkeiten des Pensionskassensektors insbesondere im Hinblick auf das aktuelle ökonomische Umfeld sowie zur Beurteilung der Risikotragfähigkeit der einzelnen Unternehmen führt die FMA regelmäßig Stresstests durch. Hierfür betrachtet die FMA auch die Auswirkungen der zukünftigen Klimapolitik, der Einzug kohlenstoffarmer Technologien, der Anpassungsgrad der Wirtschaft oder das Auftreten von Extremereignissen.
  • ESG-Dialog: Im Rahmen der Begleitung der Pensionskassen im Transitionsprozess zur Erreichung der Ziele des europäischen „Grünen Deal“ hat die FMA den Dialog mit der Branche intensiviert, um die Pensionskassen möglichst frühzeitig über die aktuellen Entwicklungen, die Initiativen der FMA und die Ergebnisse der Asset Screenings zu informieren.