Sprache umschalten / Switch language

New Information Requirements for Pensionskassen and Life Insurance ensure greater transparency in old-age provision

Release Date: |
Categories:

The Austrian Financial Market Authority (FMA) has published two new rules today that extend the information requirements for pension funds (Pensionskassen). Both the amended Information Requirements Regulation and the Minimum Standards for Information from Pensionskassen to Beneficiaries ensure greater transparency in relation to occupational pensions.

Extended information requirements for Pensionskassen

With the amendment of the Information Requirements Regulation for Pensionskassen the FMA obliges Pensionskassen to provide information about what options exist for pay-out, once a beneficiary has reached the pensionable age determined in the pension company contract. In addition to this Regulation, the FMA has also updated its Minimum Standards on Information Requirements. The new developments relate to the information that beneficiaries (entitled) are required to receive both when being joining an occupational pension plan, as well as when leaving a company or prior to the occurrence of a benefit event. “Customers of Pensionskassen want to have transparency about what the effect might be of a change in their place of work regarding their pension claims, as well as what benefits they may expect when they retire. Transparency promotes confidence in the occupational pension provision system,” explain the FMA’s Executive Directors Helmut Ettl and Klaus Kumpfmüller.

The new requirements are based on the European Pension Funds Directive (IORP II), which has been transposed into Austrian law by the amendment to the Pensionskassen Act (PKG; Pensionskassengesetz) that entered into force at the end of November 2018.

Greater cost transparency for life insurance customers

To also further develop transparency and customer information in the third pillar of the Austrian pension system – that of individual pensions – the FMA already extended the information requirements for life insurance a few weeks ago. Since 1 October 2018 insurance policyholders are required to be informed about the amount of the total costs of their life insurance and the effects of these total costs on the insurance benefits they receive. Insurers are required to present in a standardised format prescribed by the FMA what proportion of paid-in premiums is invested and how high the expected proportion of costs is as a percentage of the paid-in premium sum or the performance of the investment.

There is now a standardised format for term life insurance products in the form of the LIPID (Life Insurance Product Information Document). Consequently insurance products are intended to be most easy to understand for insurance policyholders and also easier to compare with one another.

 

Journalists may address further enquiries to:

Mr. Stefan Maier
+43/(0)1/24959-6001
+43/(0)676/882 49 426

 

Previous news entry: «

Sprache umschalten / Switch language
Whistleblower-System

Neue Informationspflichten bei Pensionskassen und Lebensversicherung sorgen für größere Transparenz in der Altersvorsorge

Veröffentlichungsdatum: |
Kategorien:

Österreichs Finanzmarktaufsichtsbehörde (FMA) hat heute zwei neue Regularien veröffentlicht, die die Informationspflichten für Pensionskassen erweitern. Sowohl die novellierte Informationspflichtenverordnung, als auch die Mindeststandards für die Informationen von Pensionskassen an Anwartschafts- und Leistungsberechtigte sorgen für größere Transparenz in der betrieblichen Altersvorsorge.

Erweiterte Informationspflichten für Pensionskassen

Mit der Novelle der Informationspflichtenverordnung für Pensionskassen verpflichtet die FMA die Pensionskassen zur Angabe, welche Auszahlungsoptionen zur Verfügung stehen, wenn ein Begünstigter das im Pensionskassenvertrag festgelegte Pensionsalter erreicht hat. Zusätzlich zu dieser Verordnung hat die FMA ihre Mindeststandards über Informationspflichten aktualisiert. Die Neuerungen betreffen die Informationen, die Anwartschaftsberechtigte bei Einbeziehung in die Pensionskassenvorsorge, sowie bei einem Firmenaustritt vor Eintritt eines Leistungsfalles erhalten müssen. „Kunden von Pensionskassen wollen Transparenz darüber, wie sich ein Wechsel ihres Arbeitsplatzes auf die Pensionsansprüche auswirkt und welche Leistung sie erwarten können, wenn sie ihren Ruhestand antreten. Transparenz fördert das Vertrauen in das System der betrieblichen Altersvorsorge“, erläutern die beiden FMA-Vorstände Helmut Ettl und Klaus Kumpfmüller.

Die neuen Anforderungen gehen auf die europäische Pensionsfondsrichtlinie IORP II zurück, die durch die seit Ende November 2018 gültige Novellierung des Pensionskassengesetzes in österreichisches Recht umgesetzt wurde.

Mehr Kostentransparenz für Kunden von Lebensversicherungen

Um die Transparenz und Kundeninformation auch in der dritten Säule des österreichischen Pensionssystems – der individuellen Altersvorsorge – weiterzuentwickeln, hat die FMA bereits vor einigen Wochen die Informationspflichten in der Lebensversicherung ausgebaut. Seit dem 1. Oktober 2018 sind Versicherungsnehmer über den Gesamtkostenbetrag ihrer Lebensversicherung und die Auswirkungen dieser Gesamtkosten auf ihre Versicherungsleistung zu informieren. Versicherer müssen dazu in einem von der FMA vorgegebenen, standardisierten Format darstellen, welcher Anteil der eingezahlten Prämie investiert wird und wie hoch der voraussichtliche prozentuelle Anteil der Kosten an der einbezahlten Prämiensumme bzw. der Performance der Veranlagung ist.

Mit dem sogenannten LIPID (Life Insurance Product Information Document) liegt nunmehr ein standardisiertes Format für Risikolebensversicherungsprodukte vor. Damit sollen Versicherungsprodukte für Versicherungsnehmer verständlicher und vergleichbarer werden.

 

Rückfragehinweis für Journalisten:

Mag. Stefan Maier

+43/(0)1/24959-6001

+43/(0)676/882 49 426

 

Vorheriger News-Eintrag: «